Money

Opening a Bank Account in Bermuda as a New Resident

Last checked 12 October 2026

This guide is general information, not legal, immigration or tax advice. Some links may be affiliate links. See our disclosure.

Rent, utilities and payroll in Bermuda mostly run through local bank accounts, so opening one is one of the first jobs after you land. The good news is that the main retail banks publish their requirements. The catch is that nearly all of them need proof of your tie to Bermuda, such as a work permit, and proof of a local address. That’s a chicken-and-egg problem when you’ve just arrived.

This guide compares what the three main retail banks say they need, based on their own published documents. Requirements change, so confirm with the bank before you visit.

The short version

Almost every bank will want:

  1. ID: a valid passport for non-Bermudians.
  2. Proof of address: usually dated within the last three months.
  3. Proof of your tie to Bermuda: a work permit, an employer letter, a spousal letter, a PRC or similar.
  4. Proof of income or source of funds.
  5. Tax self-certification forms (FATCA/CRS, plus a W-9 if you’re a US person).
  6. An opening deposit: BM$100 at Butterfield and HSBC.

Butterfield

Butterfield’s Bermuda account application (butterfieldgroup.com PDF) asks for:

The PDF was uploaded in 2023. Ask the branch whether a newer form exists.

HSBC Bermuda

HSBC’s “Opening your first bank account” guide (hsbc.bm) and online application page (hsbc.bm) list:

HSBC lets you start online, which may save a branch visit.

Clarien Bank

Clarien’s personal onboarding checklist (clarienbank.com PDF) and May 2025 product guide (clarienbank.com PDF) ask for:

Clarien notes that documents must be originals or certified copies, and that copies submitted from outside Bermuda should be notarised. Clarien’s checklists don’t state an opening deposit, so ask when you book.

Side-by-side

ButterfieldHSBC BermudaClarien
IDPassport (original or notarised copy)Passport + tie to BermudaPassport
Residency proofOfficial immigration documentWork permit, employer letter, property, study, spousal letter/PRC, pensionWork permit, spousal letter, landing permit or PRC
Address proofBill, lease, employer letter and othersLease, bill, pay receipt, work permit/employment letter for temporary residentsBill etc. within 3 months
Opening depositBM$100BM$100Not stated in checklist
Online startNot stated in application PDFYesNot stated in checklist

Solving the address problem

Most new arrivals don’t have a utility bill in their own name for weeks. The workarounds the banks themselves list:

What if I’m on Permission to Reside rather than a work permit?

Your official permission letter is “an official immigration document” in Butterfield’s terms. HSBC’s list of ties doesn’t name Permission to Reside explicitly, so check with HSBC before applying there.

Bermuda dollars and US dollars

The Bermuda dollar is pegged one-to-one to the US dollar, and US News Travel notes US dollars are widely accepted on the island (travel.usnews.com). Many residents hold both BMD and USD accounts. Wise’s rate pages, for example, show 1 USD = 1.0000 BMD (wise.com).

Getting money in before your account is open

Until your Bermuda account is open, you’ll probably rely on UK cards and transfers. To keep currency costs down in the meantime:

Need a lease first? See renting in Bermuda.

Checklist for your first bank appointment

Should I keep my UK bank account?

Usually yes, at least at first, for paying UK bills, receiving any UK income and keeping a credit history. Ask your UK bank directly what its policy is for customers living abroad before you move.

Sources checked 12 October 2026. Bank requirements change, so confirm with the branch before you go.

FAQ

What documents do I need to open a bank account in Bermuda?

Expect to need a valid passport, proof of address dated within the last three months, proof of your tie to Bermuda (such as a work permit, employer letter, spousal letter or PRC), proof of income or source of funds, and FATCA/CRS self-certification forms, plus a W-9 if you are a US person.

How much is the opening deposit?

Butterfield and HSBC Bermuda both list an opening deposit of BM$100 or equivalent. Clarien's checklists don't state an opening deposit, so ask when you book.

How do I prove my address if I've just arrived?

Butterfield accepts an employer letter as address proof, HSBC accepts a work permit or employment letter for temporary residents, and both accept a signed lease. A signed letter from someone you live with, plus their ID and address proof, is another option.

Can I open an account on Permission to Reside?

Your official permission letter counts as an official immigration document in Butterfield's terms. HSBC's list of ties doesn't name Permission to Reside explicitly, so check with HSBC before applying there.

Should I keep my UK bank account?

Usually yes, at least at first, for paying UK bills, receiving UK income and keeping a credit history. Ask your UK bank what its policy is for customers living abroad.